August 7, 2010

Hidden Caribbeans

Posted in Art & Culture, Lifestyle tagged , , , , , , , , , , at 10:07 pm by potofcallaloo


*Nominated for the ‘Rights in Motion’ Award Screening at the Bang! Short Film Festival Nottingham, 2010*

Among the United Kingdom’s numerous ethnic groups, there is relatively unknown community of about 30,000.

To much of the UK, Indo-Caribbeans are invisible.

This documentary explores how the Indo-Caribbean Diaspora in London is using Chutney music and other Indo- Caribbean cultural forms as an expression of their identity, with the hope of establishing a stronger cultural presence and distinct identity here.

Produced by Alisha Nurse as final project for a Master of Arts Degree in International Journalism -Broadcast with Merit at the University of Westminster 2010.

6 Comments »

  1. Aysha Goni said,

    I feel like I am now aware of this culture, so beautiful, colourful, and lucky you to have experienced all this, looked like alot of fun. Hopefully it will open up ignorant eyes to this wonderful community, I certainly have gained some knowledge thanks to your video.

    • Thanks Aysha:) And this is only part of Indo Caribbean culture I’ve featured. The food is awesome! but only so much can be done in 12 minutes!:S thanks for your support and encouraging comments:)

  2. Sunita said,

    I really enjoyed watching this video. Being of Indo-Trinidadian descent living in Toronto, Canada I can really identify with this video, specifically regarding not being identified as a seperate entity from Afro-Trinidadians. Also, the point being made about the potential of cultural identity loss for those younger generations of the Indo-Caribbean diaspora really resonated with me.

    Again, I really enjoyed watching the film and was wondering if this was it or if there was a longer film being produced because I would love to watch it if there was.

    • Hi Sunita:)
      Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I feel quite strongly about the issues myself and thus why I produced the documentary. Unfortunately because I produced it for university and I had a time limit of 13 minutes. I would like to produce a longer version and perhaps in future I may do. Stay tuned to my blog and pass the word around:) Take care!:)

  3. Sandra Dee said,

    I enjoyed watching your documentary, the narration is well articulated and coherent with the events taking place in the film. Very informative about the Indo Caribbean culture in light of the short time constraint. I hope this film is the beginning of a whole new journey for you.

    A job well done. Congratulations!

    ‎”Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them”.
    William Shakespeare

  4. […] Hidden Caribbeans August 2010 5 comments 4 […]


Leave a Reply

