April 17, 2012

Forgetting Love in Everyday Life

Posted in Lifestyle tagged , at 10:50 pm by potofcallaloo


Photo by Aunty Owwee

Everyone likes to talk about how the world is devoid of love.

We lament its absence in the world, when we hear tragic news stories of war and crime, but fail to pick out glaring instances where we show a lack of it in our own lives towards others.

We preach love, but we don’t share it.

Love is kindness, yet we don’t give it.

While on the bus today a very feeble old lady boarded. As usual with these hasty bus drivers, the bus took off so quickly she hadn’t the chance to sit. She stood where she was, gripping onto the pole for dear life, and terror was etched across her face.

I remembered when I couldn’t walk on a moving bus. And I thought of my bad days when my pains are so awful it hurts to walk, but I have to anyway.

Kindness doesn’t cost a thing

I offered my tiny seat which was nearest to her, but she was reluctant. So I offered to help her to a more spacious seat.

She seemed shocked at this, and now I understand why.

People are so inconsiderate and selfish, that even when it costs them nothing to show a little love and kindness they don’t.

Anyway, given my feet problems and issues with balance, I almost lost it while helping her to her seat. Thank heavens I grabbed the pole in the nick of time!

The well built 30-something year old man sitting mere inches from us, tapping away at a game on his phone, stared at our every move, yet never offered to help.

We get what we give

We managed to make it to the seat in one piece nevertheless.  Two stops later, a group of about 10 elderly ladies leaving some older chic gathering got on board, and there weren’t enough seats for them.

The same athletic man paused from his game to watch them scurry about looking for seats, but never offered, though he was sitting in one of those specially reserved for the disabled or elderly.

I gave up my seat, and the elderly lady was so kind to ask me if I was sure I wanted to. She or any of them could have been my Ma. And I know if my Ma had to travel on her own back home, I’d like someone to offer her their seat.

But people don’t think about these things – like how we will get back what we give. So when we fail to be kind to others because it’s an inconvenience to our laziness and selfishness, that suits us fine. But when others fail to be kind to us, we throw a fit about how the world has changed.

Anyway, when the seat I was standing next to became free, another the older Aunties looked at it and I told her she should sit. She asked me if I didn’t want to instead. Imagine, the 70-something year old showing concern and kindness to me!  It really warmed my heart to know that some people still think of others. Although she was the one who clearly needed the seat more than me.

And, it also made me reconsider getting that walking stick so next time I can accidentally poke that dude who was simply too unconcerned to offer his seat to those who needed it most.

For your consideration:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails

Photo by Lel4nd

Where do you see a lack of love in everyday life?

3 Comments »

  1. I see this every time I leave my house and get on the bus.Thankfully, I see from my children, the opposite as well.

    Last month my brother graduated from college. After the ceremony and lunch, we walked to the stop to catch the bus home. There was a lady, older than my mom, sitting on the bench as my brother, mother, 12 year old son and I walked up. My mother sat and the sweet dear offered me her seat because I walk with a cane. I declined of course. This lady dropped her dollar and a gust of wind carried it off and my son retrieved it for her. He picked up things for her if she dropped them and she said she should pay him for his trouble. His words brought tears of pride to my eyes “No, ma’am, you shouldn’t pay me for doing nice things. I am rewarded by the smile on your face, thank you.”

    Makes me think I’m doing something right 🙂

    • Wow!! I’m really moved by your son’s actions and response. He has heart! and yes, you are doing something right! keep on at it. The world needs more mums like you 🙂

  2. jackie376 said,

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

